Figure 1.

Schematic presentation of main expression vector library elements. The library is composed of a plasmid set of 45 vectors based on the pDEST15 vector (Invitrogen) which all contain the ColE1 origin of replication and the chloramphenicol resistance gene (cmr) and the lacI repressor gene. The different plasmids have different lacZp3-derived promoters, which were generated by introducing single nucleotide mutations in the "-35" and "-10" regions (bold and underlined letters), and different ribosome binding sites. The promoter and ribosome binding site nomenclatures have been described in detail earlier [6]. In addition the expression vector library contains following target protein N-terminus tag combinations: 6 × His tag, 6 × His-GST (glutathione S-transferase), 6 × His-MBP (maltose-binding protein), 6 × His-SUMO (small ubiquitin-related modifier) and 6 × His-Trx (thioredoxin). The plasmid set is a full factorial combination of the different expression factors.

Šiurkus et al. Microbial Cell Factories 2010 9:35   doi:10.1186/1475-2859-9-35
Download authors' original image